Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
946 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to the Chi breed, but now have 2 and my husband has 2. We live apart during the week and are all together Fri night thru Monday morning. We each just had one and they sleep in their crates. Now with the 2 new additions (all of this has happened in a 2month period!) not sure if we should get 2 more crates or let them pair up at night. Any suggestions? Oh, I'm new to the group too, so thank in advance for your help!!:)

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Are they pups or adults? Do they get along well enough to pair up?

I don't crate mine during the night, didn't even do it when Gracie was a pup. They sleep with my husband and I. But I never crate my two together because of the age and temperament differences between them. Gracie can get pretty obnoxious at times! I'd hate to have Pedro hurt her just because he'd had enough and she didn't get the message.

·
Registered
2,950 Posts
I think it would depend if they all get along and if the crate is big enough. I hate crating my babies and never do. They sleep with me during the night. lol Our new boy sleeps with us too! There is always room for a Chihuahua LOL Good luck with figuring out the best sleeping situation with them!!!

·
Registered
7,558 Posts
Tabitha and Jerry share an ex-pen at night and they tend to sleep on the same dog bed.
Evie has a playpen for now. Sometimes I crate the older ones
overnight just to keep them comfortable with the idea; but, I don't crate them together.
There is always the risk that a fight could break out in
such a small space.
That worries me :(

·
Registered
2,206 Posts