Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
5,733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hiya everyone just a few questions really at what age do chis generally stop teething i thought jacob had finished but then all of a sudden one side of his mouth the row of teeth have fell out also it looks like he is growing two layers one from the top and one from another part of the gum is this right ?

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
No it isn't right if there are 2 teeth in the same space, he might have to have an extraction done. That's usually a baby tooth that didn't come out and an adult tooth that came through anyway. As to when they quit teething, I'm not sure, I've about decided it's endless.

·
Registered
2,785 Posts
I'm no expert, but have heard it is very important to get an extraction if his baby teeth won't fall out-but the adult teeth are growing in. :wave:

·
Registered
3,815 Posts
Hi there, all decidous teeth should generally be out by around 9 months, but if they remain by the time you neuter Jacob (6-7 months) then they should be extracted since the longer you wait, if they are intent on not coming out, waiting longer will mean a second experience under anesthesia. If you are not planning on neutering him, ask your vet for advice. He/she may want to wait and see if they look like they are on their way out, or plan for extraction in the event that they don't.

·
Registered
3,249 Posts