Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My family has been involved in the past with showing German Shepherds. I know that the GSD has been involved with some controversy among the breed itself due to breeding practices that, over the years, bred a weak structured dog that had higher instances of hip dysplasia. What I'm trying to get at, is that I've been looking at some show pictures of winning Chihuahua's and honestly? I hate the show bred chi's head structure. There were more than a few that reminded me more of Pugs than Chihuahuas. This is just my own personal opinion and I am still relatively new to the breed, but this is my opinion. After I read more and researched the German Shepherd's problems with their show bred build a few years ago, I swore that I would never support the breeding down of weakening dogs. I was just wondering if there was any sort of studies being done or has been done in regards to the health of dogs with shorter than average snouts. Also, why is this such a high regard in the show ring? I'd like to get involved in showing Chi's eventually but not if I must sacrifice my dog's longevity in order to achieve a CH title. Sorry for the rambling, just thought I would see how everyone else felt about this as well.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
Some unscrupulous breeders do breed for an exaggerated or 'overdone' apple head (tend to be the kind of people who breed the mythical 'Teachp' Chihuahuas also) however these are ususally pet breeders and the dogs would never do well in the show ring. Is this the kind of look you're speaking of?