Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
787 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been feeding prey model raw for coming up on two years, now, and I believe it's one of the best things I've done for my dogs. Teeth are clearer, coats are softer, breath is better, meals are more joyous. My guys were in pretty nice shape even before raw, but they're looking even better these days, EXCEPT...

My husky, Wren, never had tear stains before, and I owned her six years before making the switch. Shortly after I transitioned over, she started to get these ugly tear stains dripping down the inner corners of her eyes. I thought at first she was detoxing or her tear glands were working overtime due to the increased and tougher chewing raw meals required, but it's almost two years later, and they're still there. I've tried colloidal silver, probiotics, wiping her eyes after meals, but nothing has really helped. Below are two photos, the first taken a few months before I switched to raw feeding and the second was taken last week.

Has anybody experienced anything like this? Any ideas or suggestions on how I could make these ugly stains vamoose? Nobody else besides Wren has tear stains of any sort. I really have no idea what the heck.

·
Banned
6,940 Posts
Huh...how WEIRD! Raw has completely eradicated my guy's tear stains...which makes me wonder if there might not be something else causing them. Maybe she has some dental issue, I know that can cause tear staining -- even if everything looks beautiful on the surface, sometimes there can be an impacted tooth rotting inside the head--that pain alone can cause the tearing. I am kinda reaching for straws here...it's so odd and I hope you figure it out and please share with us when you do.

·
Registered
787 Posts
Discussion Starter #3