Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

So it's been decided.. My husband and I have decided to get 'a' puppy. At first I only wanted a small dog, and he ONLY wanted a dobe. Now- he has decided that he wants a dobe AND a chihuahua.

I'm hesitant- I'm a teacher so I am home by the latest 4 every day and we wouldn't be getting the dog(s) until late June so that I can be home to train, etc. Now the question I have is if I do allow him to get both, which should we get first, or should we get them at the same time? He wants a lady dobe and little boy chi.

I'm worried about the size thing and temperament. Puppies are puppies and want to play, will a dobe pup be too rough with a chi pup? If we get the Chihuahua first will it let another dog into its life later (well socialized of course)?

Any advice and suggestions are welcome. This is not the first dog that either of us have had (first that we would have together, separately we have both had dogs) so training isn't the problem.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
355 Posts
I am a recent former dobe owner. You might want to consider getting an adult dobe from a rescue who has a known benevolent history with small dogs. Dary was very good with little dogs, but some dobes have very high prey drive and bad things can happen.